Forum home Problem solving

Complete newbie needs help

• Bernie3kBernie3k Posts: 14

Well in my job everything is required to be level and straight. Suppose I have to remember I'm not planting a bowling green image

• plant pauperplant pauper Posts: 6,234

Nothing wrong with striving for a bowling green, just don't kill yourself doing it.

The leveling is a very important part so you should take your time with it. It will always settle more anyway once it rains and so on that's why you need to keep going over and over..... Treading and raking, treading and raking... you can think straight and level thoughts while you're doing it. image

Better still, start planning your "areas" and pretties. Get to know where the sun shines at different times of day, where the shade is. You only have to read a few threads on here to realise that after donkeys years the oldies are still learning and hoeing up the odd treasure! image

• sanjy67sanjy67 Posts: 1,007

i think it looks really good so far! well done. are you seeding it with grass all over? if not you can use some sand to mark out where your flower borders will be etc, then if you want to change it just rake the sand away and re-mark it, it's been a long time since i seeded a garden but you can also mix some sand in with your grass seed and that enables you to see where you have scattered, but as plant pauper says shuffle rake,shuffle rake,shuffle rake, then as mentioned you can do the board thing, might be easier when your partner returns and use a long piece of wood and use like you are tampering concrete and you can see any dips and board will smooth out any humps.

lastly lay on the floor with one eye shut and check it's level image (joke) don't worry i live with a perfectionist builder and i'm a 'everything has to be level control freak' so you're in good company

• Daryl2Daryl2 Posts: 452