Forum home Problem solving

Complete newbie needs help

• PalaisglidePalaisglide Posts: 3,414

Bernie3K, that does not look too bad at all, definitely worked on worse so what to do. Rake the biggest  lumps off I would not bother getting on my knees to do it, rake as flat as you can manage, dragging a flat edge batten over it tells you where the bumps and dips are.

Right our council dump collects waste plant matter to compost then allows so many free bags, worth a try. If not we can get from local GC's three bags of compost for ten pounds or asking on line can often get some one wanting to get rid of soil. Spread the compost mixed with some washed sand on the garden and level using the batten again the idea being to raise the level where you need a lawn. At this stage you could draw up a plan for some hard standing and some grass up to you though a seating area usually needs some hard standing think about it. You can sow lawn from now until October I once put down a small lawn with grass rolls ten days before Christmas and it thrives well now.

The idea would be do not look on it in dismay, look on it as a clean canvass for you to make your own Eden, if you dragged the best soil to the place you most want grass then used pots of all sizes to make a border plus a seating area it will become manageable. We have all struggled at times though us tough old gardeners shrug and get on with it, do not lose heart, I see a very good working area in progress it just needs you to stand back and make a workable plan. Good luck.

Frank.

• Bernie3kBernie3k Posts: 14

Thank you everybody. I feel a bit better about it all now.. off to the "garden"

Ok.... I may have had a little breakthrough... and would love to hear your opinion as to whether I should continue working in this way

First of all, this is my rake. probably a little small but It's all I have until later when I borrow one off my parents.

(House brick for scale)