Forum home Problem solving

Complete newbie needs help

Ok first off, I am a complete newbie when it comes to gardening. I may well have bitten off more than I can chew... but I really need your help and advice as I'm starting to think I've ruined my garden. This is how it stands now

A little history (I'll try to stay brief)

Garden in new house was awfully bumpy and had a "shelf" at the back with a steep step, both of the above making it impossible to mow and ankle breaky under foot.

So we killed it off, intending to level it and replant. Using a tiny bit of knowledge gained from google I hired a rotavator (after picking a reasonably dry weekend... this weekend)

FYI, we killed the lawn off 6 days before rotavating, thinking back this was probably mistake number 1

After rotavating for a couple of hours it was apparent I had two different kinds of end products, using the above picture as reference.... the right hand section and the shelf at the back have gone like I hoped it would, soil broken up nicely.

imageimage

However, the main section of the garden went clumpy (possible clay content in that section?) or maybe just too wet as we had a couple of downpours last week. No matter what I can't break the soil down either by hand or machine, they seem like small pebbles.

It was also incredibly sunny on Saturday and it didn't seem to improve it.

1) The entire soil is very stoney, I am trying my best to pick out the stones but it seems never ending. Just how stone free does it need to be before I can plant?

2) What can I do about the clumps?

3) What should my next move be?

I know there isn't going to be a quick fix, and I am prepared for a lot of hard work. We don't have a great deal of money so a cost effective solution would be best. I am prepared to put the manual work in but can't afford to hire a professional or use any drastic measures such as turfing (due to the size)

I do have access to machines like mini diggers, dumpers and trucks