When tulip are done...

Hi all, here's something that's been bugging me. If you've got a bed which you've planted lots of tulips in ( in amongst other stuff), what do you do when the tulips are done and died down?

a) lift bulbs and plant something annual to fill the gap, as it's near a slow growing shrub which will leave a space

b) lift bulbs, leave the space as the perennials will be growing to fill those gaps anyway 

c) leave the bulbs, let it all get on with it

d) something else?

You can tell it's my first year of having a proper garden, can't you? #dopeyquestionalert

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 13,197

My bulbs are between perennials. The perennials expand to fill the gap letting the bulbs die down naturally. Any gaps at the moment are filled with self seeding forgetmenots. When they start to look tatty, I pull them out and fill any remaining gaps with annuals that are currently in the greenhouse. I usually manage to accidentally dig up or put a fork through bulbs at that point.

You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 25,883

Option c image

• plant pauperplant pauper Posts: 6,238

#dopeyansweralert

Hi geum, tulips don't like to be wet, they rot, so if that is likely to happen during the year they will have to come out. However, all the nutrients from the leaves will feed the bulbs so you'll have to leave it a while till the leaves have died down.....I think. That's how it is with other bulbs anyway.

Having just come from a weeding thread, there seems to be the idea that more plants=fewer weeds so bung something in I say. That way when the tulip leaves have gone, no weeds'll get in. If you put in low ground covering things, your perennials can go all over them anyway.

In conclusion....I'm going to the GC. Wanna come? image

• See you there, PP! #grabscoatandkeys

I'll leave them be for now, I promise :)