Questions about my Dahlia tubers!

wakeshinewakeshine Posts: 950

Hi everybody!

I am new to gardening and got carried away. I have a lot of flowers growing at the moment. I did not even realised Dahlias weren't perennial. When I saw them on sale in March I bought several bags, as they were quite cheap in Morrisons and Home Bargains! I thought it would be a simple case of putting them in the ground, but it has been too cold. Then I learned that it's best to grow Dahlia tubers inside. So I had a total of 25 tubers and potted them into medium and large size pots. Only a couple of them haven't started shooting yet. Various questions:

Do you think they will come up? Are they just still asleep? Is there a chance I could have put the tuber upside down?

Also, here are some photos of the pots in my growhouse. Another question - is the first one dying or dead? It had proper leaves at one point. I put it outside as I was running out of space inside, and I am wondering if the cold has killed him?

Another question - I was wondering why all the shoots are at thw side of the pots. Should I have used shallow but wide pots instead? Do tubers grow roots down aswell or is all from the top such that I could have put them in a shallow tray and not wasted so much compost? It was a lot of work potting them all into individual pots and a lot of guesswork as to which way to lay them down. Please let me know your thoughts and advice so I can learn for next time what to do. Advice I read online was all different! The next job is putting them in the soil. I may have questions about that too!!

Thank you in advance image

• JerryBoneJerryBone Posts: 91

Hi,

The first picture is definitely damaged by the cold, however it should hopefully come back to health if it hasn't been damaged too badly.

Some Dahlias may take longer than others to come up, I guess patience will tell.