ready made borders

Hello there,

I am pretty new to gardening and having spent a few days thinking about how to plant up my new borders (from having some decking removed, dug out and top soil put down) I have come across these ready made borders on crocus.

What do people think of these? The one I was looking at was the budget http://www.crocus.co.uk/bomcard/_/ready-made-border/budget/classid.2000008600/

In terms of what flowers I like I had originally planned for clematis and honeysuckle at the back for some height (grown up trellis) and some anemones and marguerites towards the front. I also like lavender and rosemary. the border is approximately 3/4m long by 75/100cm deep...very sunny and the soil is alkaline.

any tips please...

• helentofthelentoft Posts: 24

What a lovely palette of colours. Having bought from crocus myself I know that you will get good quality plants with no quibbles if you have problems. They are also good at giving advice so I would send the query above to them too. No disrespect intended to all the worthy forum contributors.

• Hi Jammy

if your going to buy from Crocus, Gardeners world have a 15% discount offer for use on the crocus site so you may be able to save some more valuable money. the link is on this forum page to the right of  where I am typing

Enjoy

Jolly G

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 14,243

That Crocus border is 2m deep, yours is half that, so a big shrub like the Choisya would need to be kept under control. Don't think there would be any room for anything in front of it. Lavender is fine in sunny alkali soil. Some of those plants are quite vigorous. If you want more room for planting perennials then Honeysuckle and clematis would be better than shrubs. Unless you could make the bed deeper.

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • lilysillylilysilly Posts: 429