new garden

Hey guys! Apologies, I'm a complete novice, but I've just moved into our new home and I've always wanted a garden to potter in.now I have one but i have no idea where to start! We currently have a square area covered with stones with 4 decent sized 'bushes' dotted around them. Dad tells me 2 of them are heather, I'm unsure of the other 2. There's also a path next to the square, then a narrow section along the other side of the path with more plants and bushes, then a small area under the window along the front of the main square that has no plants and I just filled with stones and some weeds (I'm thinking this section might be my planting starting spot!). I plan to remove the stones from this part, dig up the soil and weeds and lay a fresh bed of compost before I plant anything. I'm unsure how to post photos and this would make it a lot easier to describe! Is it worth planting in the spaces between the heather among the stones (removing the stones first)? My partner came back from the bulb fields in Amsterdam and anfter a loong talk with a flower shop owner across there, he sold him a bag of 50 late tulip bulbs and a bag of 50 mixed summer bulbs, and advised that we plant them asap and should see growth of the tulips by early summer and the mixed flower bag by August. Any advice on this? Again, apologies I'm a complete novice but I'm hoping this will become my new hobby and one day ill have a beautiful garden to potter in ???? thanks in advance, sorry about the simple sounding descriptions!

• Steve 309Steve 309 Posts: 2,753

Hello Michelle image  Welcome to the forum and to what will become an all-consuming hobby.