Forum home The potting shed

Average gardeners spending

• Hi - my first post. I stumbled on the forum at tea time tonight and have spend the evening reading past posts so I have now joined so I don't feel like a stalker. I am still trying to turn what was an entirely concrete garden into something pretty. i have built a garden on top of the concrete. I must admit that £47 is nowt. I try to grow from seed with some success ( I am a novice ) but I can't resist buying new plants. This year I have another area rescued from concrete hell and have spend a good few bob on plants, sleepers, soil etc. I am also a bit of a container freak ( last year my mum in law counted 180 odd while she was watering when I was on my hols) so renewing my container plants cost a good £150 . 

whatever the cost it's worth it as I can't believe how much I love pottering in my garden and when its all in bloom, sitting having a glass of wine and remembering that I grew that .

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,160

Hi Faywray, welcome to the forum. image

The glass of wine and admiration of the garden is essential.image

• LINDA FLINDA F Posts: 162

Hi Faywray, welcomeimage I am a bit of a container freak too and I thought I had a lot in having 60, I laughed when I saw the amount £47 ,I could spend that in a day and have done so frequently. I don't drink or smoke and the joy I get from my garden is worth every penny I spend on it. I take cuttings and divide my plants and give them to neighbours , friends and family. I am a bit of a bargain hunter too and look out for reduced plants at the end of the season which will be great for the following year. £47??  I nearly fell of my chair laughingimageimage   

• Thanks all for the warm welcome.