Forum home Garden design

Trees or bushes that grow to 6-10m mature height

RubiRubi Posts: 131
I'm wanting to plant some trees or bushes along a 12m fence line and would like a minimum height of 6m for screening, up to about 10m at full mature height. Ideally I would like trees/bushes that have a spread of 4-6m. I need something that's fast growing, is suited to clay and loamy soil, and has a light canopy. I would really like something that has colourful leaves or pretty flowers, however I have never done any gardening before so most of all I need like something that's low maintenance. With regards to the trunk, I would like something that can be pruned up to fence height, so 1.8m from the ground. As I have young kids I don't want anything that are poisonous. My youngest is one so still has a tendency to put things in his mouth. Thanks for any help.

• RubiRubi Posts: 131
    http://i67.tinypic.com/33v16q9.jpg

• Is it to screen across the bottom of your garden?

The only things that really spring to mind would be a conifer hedge or possible a bay-laurel both evergreen but neither are going to flower.

Yes it's for the bottom of the garden.

Would I be allowed a tall hedge as I'm sure I read something about a maximum height for hedges.
  • CeresCeres Posts: 2,105

Be aware that a tall hedge will be wide too so you will lose part of your garden to this thicket. Too high and you will find maintenance a real problem without getting someone in with a cherry picker. If you have a mixed native hedge you will get some flowers and fruits and the wildlife will love you for it. Hawthorns, cherry plums, hazel etc. Not blackthorn unless you want to find your children skewered to the topiary. If you go for something like trellis with climbers then you will get a fabulous display of flowers and if you use something like lonicera haliana, a chance of leaves all winter.