Overgrown backgarden

Hey everyone- I just moved into a new house and I'm lucky enough to have a pretty sizeable back garden. It is overgrown and will require some work, but I can't wait to get started this weekend. I'm including photos to see if you can provide input on what should go and what should stay. In addition to clearing a bunch of trash out of the space, I want to get rid of unnecessary weeds before adding things like stacked logs, birdbath, bird feeding station, etc. I'm new to gardening so would very much appreciate any input. Thanks! Cheers- Matthew

• LiriodendronLiriodendron Todmorden, West YorksPosts: 5,269

Hi Matt image

Are you in London?  I'd guess so from your forum name!  Your weeds have a lot more leaves than mine do in West Yorks.  A wildlife garden seems like a good plan since that's more or less what you've got at the moment - from your photos it doesn't look as if there are many "planted" plants there.  I can't ID them all - the top photo won't enlarge for me, and I can't remember all of them, but you obviously have a fair amount of ivy (a good wildlife plant - if it's growing over something, like a shed or wall, birds may use it for a nest site - and the flowers attract insects).  You also have a lot of green alkanet, or pentaglottis.  It's not native but spreads invasively; it's on the right of the bottom picture (and may be the main plant in the photo with the boot in, though I'm not certain).  It has small white spots on biggish hairy leaves, and pretty blue flowers.  The photo below the boot has a tall leafy weed which may be fat hen, not sure - and I think red deadnettle behind it.  There's deadnettle in the bottom two pictures as well.