Greenhouses

Hi all. I am quite new to gardening but always get to this time of year and wish I had a greenhouse, so this year want to do something about it! I have found the perfect space for for it with sunshine however we do have a problem with wind! At certain time throughout the year we are quite exposed when it gets windy, and I mean seriously windy! I seem to remember my father had a great timber framed greenhouse but did suffer with the glass slipping out of the the roof and felt sure this was after bad weather. Can anyone recommend good reinforced greenhouse companies or any ideas on what I should be looking for when buying one please? Thanks in advance

• CeresCeres Posts: 1,709

I have always had a bog standard aluminium framed greenhouse with horticultural glass and in each windy spot we have lived, the greenhouse has survived even when the neighbour's has folded up and died. I think it depends entirely on how the gusts traverse your garden and if the blast is broken up by any fencing nearby. If wind gets into the structure than it can blow out the glass and that leads to collapse. You could look to having a steel frame and safety glass.

• Sophie17Sophie17 Posts: 342
    I had a polycarbonate greenhouse with aluminium frame it was excellent! Very strong and sturdy and had amazing success with plants inside it. It said it was guaranteed to withstand winds of up to 90 mph but unfortunately succumbed to last years storms and gusts of around 60 mph..... Couldn't fault it until the freak storms hit and am missing it now. If wind is a problem like you say then safety glass might be the way to go, it's what I think I will be replacing mine with