Forum home Problem solving

Why are all my plants doing badly?

Hello,

I am new to gardening, and have about half an acre of field which we are trying to make into a garden. I've been buying some plants but have been keeping them inside as the beds aren't all ready yet. They do quite well at first but then they get sadder and sadder and fall over and die. I don't know if I'm watering them too much, or not enough? How do you tell? I thought they might be getting too big for their pots so I moved some into a big trough and put them outside. We promptly had our first frost in around 3 years (Welsh coast) and they all fell over. So there's now a big trough in the kitchen full of sad flowers. Some are recovering but some still look like they've run a marathon. Am I trying too hard????

I've also bought some primulas and some polyanthus, yesterday. The beds aren't ready yet; will they be ok in their pots inside for a bit? And how often should I water them?

LAST one - I put lots of bulbs in last year. They got waterlogged so I don't have high hopes. I ran out of space so have loads left. Can I plant them now? Or will they last until next year? Or are they wasted? I hope not!

Thanks in advance for any help image

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,160

Other than primula and auricula, what plants have you got inside. Most hardy plants don't like being inside.

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,470

Generally speaking, plants which belong outside are happiest outside. If you can put them there, even in the wrong place, they'll do better there than in a hot, dry house.