Forum home Fruit & veg

Timing veggie patch around holidays?

Hi everyone

I'm fairly new to veggie growing - 2015 was my first season and I had some successes and other catastrophes!

I have big plans for the coming year but am a little anxious because I'm away for 3 weeks and 3 days in May on my honeymoon.

I'm trying to decide what I can plant before I go away and what I can do when I get back (26 May) but am very nervous about leaving the patch for so long. I will have a house sitter who will do the watering, but can't really expect much else.

Will sowing seeds in late May be far too late? We're in Manchester and our last frost was early May last year. Any tips or thoughts would be hugely appreciated! I realise it's a bit of a bonkers time to go away but we didn't have much choice unfortunately.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 23,784

rope in a friend  to help

Devon.
  • Unfortunately we don't have any local friends who are able to help as we haven't lived here for very long.

• Have you got a friendly green fingered neighbour? I went way last year in July and took pot luck in asking my neighbours across the road if they might be able to help. Until that point we had only exchanged pleasantries but had spotted a polytunnel in their garden so must have some idea and figured the worst case would be them saying "no". They said yes. All sorted and happy plants on my return. I would do it if a neighbour asked me, assuming it wasn't a whole nursery! You could always offer them some money for the favour?
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 16,238

Hello Sally M. I live in the Derbyshire Peaks and we always get a nasty frost at the end of May so I am always late in sowing seeds.

Last year I sowed runner beans, dwarf peas, tomatoes, cauliflower, beetroot, purple sprouting broccoli and cabbage in mid May. I think you could just get away with a late May sowing. They usually catch up with the early ones.

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.