Forum home Plants

Advice on New Border Planting

SalviaSalvia South West EnglandPosts: 13

Hello everyone. I've been lurking for over a year, and do enjoy reading about all your gardens and especially seeing the wonderful photos.  Now I'm in need of help, so thought it was time to dive in!  Last year we moved to a house in 0.75 of an acre. It was a combination of overgrown and crowded, but had no colour or flowering plants, so I want to change that. We have cleared a lot of boring unwanted stuff in the wrong places, and now I want to create a lovely new border.  I'm a novice gardener, but very keen now I have the time as we have been lucky enough to take early retirement.  Anyway, enough of me.  The new border is almost ready and I feel it needs some structure in first.  There already is a new Rowan tree at the back, and we intend to plant another tree along the back as well.  The border is about 35 feet wide and 12 feet deep with scope to extend it in the future if necessary.  It's an open aspect, quite an exposed windy site, but not shady so will get a lot of sun. Although we have wonderful views and no near neighbours (fields all around) we could actually do with some privacy without making a total block screen, hence I thought tall things at the back. This bed is on the South side of the garden, but faces North.  The soil is sandy and drains well, but is not dry as it has a lot of organic matter in it.  I'll also dig in some well rotted horse manure before I start planting. We're in Somerset.  I hope I've given enough information. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought I'd initially aim for another medium sized tree at the back, then some tall shrubs of interest, then some medium shrubs, hopefully giving year round interest, so suggestions for those would be very useful.  Then, well, what do you suggest?  Presumably general sloping down in height from front to back is the aim, perennials , grasses, bulbs, but what exactly. I have no preference about colour, I l