Forum home Problem solving

Where to start???

Hi All,

I am brand new to having a garden and am moving to a new house this week which has a beautiful garden.....well its a green space so far with some flowers.  I have no idea what is growing there or how to look after it.

Please someone help me by telling me where to start...... what do i need to do now.... how do i look after it?  Whats the most important things.  I would love to learn how to grow and look after plants but it seems i should start off with the basics but i don't even know these... image 

• cornellycornelly Posts: 901

You will need a couple of months to see what there is in the garden, with the present weather, there isn't much to be done, I would suggest buying the Gardeners World magazine ands other gardening papers, they are full of advice and places to buy seeds and plants.

• Peanuts3Peanuts3 Posts: 759

They always say to do nothing to a garden for the first year to see what comes up where, where the sun is etc.  Take the time to enjoy seeing what appears, decide what you like, what you don't like, what you might want to change.  This is a great place for posting photo's of plants and the wonderful experts on here can name them for you, then you can look up how to look after them.

In the meantime get reading those magazines.  I have a couple of gardening notebooks that I got from Paperchase, where I jot down what I have planted, when, and notes on what to do for the next year.

Enjoy, its a new adventure, and you're always learning something new. imageimage

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123