Forum home Plants

Beginner with a greenhouse

Howdy all,

i have a new house with a large north east facing garden and recently purchased two plastic green houses and a shed load of perennial seeds to get things started. 

I have also purchased loads of seed trays with propogator lids but wanted to ask is now the right time to put the seeds in the trays then put them in the greenhouse. 

Most of the seeds say to sow in February so just wanted your opinion. 

Also is now the time to cut new clematis down to the first set of buds if in group one?

sorry for the questions I'm new to this but want a garden to be proud of. Going for the plant loads method then move around later on. 

• PerkiPerki Rossendale - LancashirePosts: 2,218

Hi Newbee welcome to forum.

depends what seeds are you trying to grow Newbee?

• punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 12,021

Re: clematis. If group 1, don't prune now, but if they are getting out of hand, prune after flowering.

Consequences, altered cases
    Broken noses, altered faces
    My ego altered, altered egos
    Wherever I go, so does me go
  • Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 19,210

If the greenhouses are unheated then you can't sow anything tender yet, like half hardy annuals. You can sow sweet peas, broad beans, onions, some peas. Not tomatoes yet. I sow mostly in March in the unheated greenhouse, or indoors or in heated propagators.

If you prune group 1 clematis now, such as montanas, you will lose a lot of the flowers.

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • Is the best month to prune clematis in March would you say?

I am thinking March is the time to begin sowing and pruning.

To answer the question regarding seeds, I bought pretty much every perennial one I could find as only get one shot and I'm quite impatient so didn't want to have to wait a year to try the next batch lol. I've started gardening to help with my patience levels lol