raised beds and artificial grass

SKGSKG Posts: 3

We are about to create some raised beds this weekend.  

Our back garden is very small, 12m * 5m approx but is water logged and even in summer doesnt dry out completely.

We have 3 kids and 2 dogs so the garden is churned over and is a general mud bath.

So this weekend, we are going to build some raised beds, as a complete novice i've been reading up online and think we have a plan, but advise always welcome:

1) create the raised beds using gravel boards and some 18" deep log roll on the front edge to be more decorative.

2) Dig out the top surface of the lawn (or whats left of it), turn upside down and use at the bottom of the newly created raised bed.

3) line the log roll side with a weed proof membrane and then fill with a mix of manure and top soil which is being delivered from the garden centre.

So... as we have very wet soil with very poor drainage, will this be adequate to solve the problem?  I dont want to go to all the trouble and expense to just end up with a deeper mud bath !!

We will then dig to about 10cm deep where the artificial lawn is going to be laid, put a weed proof membrane down and then fill with MOT and sand before laying the new lawn.

Will this be enough to create drainage under the new lawn ?

Or do we have to put some drains in at the bottom.

Neither me or hubby are very DIY savvy, but we are doing this by ouselves with 3 little people as assistance (age 3,5,7) !!

Thanks in advance for any tips or advice.

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123

I'd suspect you're on clay soil with what you've described. Raised beds is the best solution and what you've planned is sensible although I'd add grit or pea shingle to the new beds to give you the best growing medium.