Forum home Tools and techniques

How to improve the Trowel?

Hello GW, 

I am currently an Industrial Designer designing and producing a new and improved gardening trowel.

Does anybody have any suggestions for:

+ Frustrating parts of current trowel designs (discomfort, cleaning etc.) ?

+ Anything you would love to see in a new trowel?

Do you see value in:

+ A deep dished blade that turns into a narrower blade that can be used similar to a fork to agitate and move anything from clay to composted garden beds?

Thanks very much image

I really appreciate your help!

Alexandra 

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 26,165

IMHO it's cost so much to , basically, over-engineer such a product, it'd be easier and cheaper to use more than one tool. 

I also think all that ability to turn from one thing to another is due to break down fairly quickly. 

My garden trowel and fork are both decades old and in constant use.

Devon.
  • Daryl2Daryl2 Posts: 452

I think that the basic shape and design has been the same for hundreds of years all over the world because it works just fine the way it is image

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 63,867

Strength of the bit where the blade and handle join, and a comfortable wooden handle are all I ask of a trowel image

Edited to add:  and a nice leather thong for hanging it on the back of the shed door!

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 26,165

I'd not want a knife which turns into a fork then a spoon. 

" If it aint broke, don't try to mend it"

Devon.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 63,867
    Hostafan1 wrote (see)

I'd not want a knife which turns into a fork then a spoon. 

" If it aint broke, don't try to mend it"

I was just going to say that Hosta! image