Spontaneous Combustion

In many of the gardening related publications, that no doubt many of us subscribe to, over the past few months, (same time every year), under “things to do”, there have been articles about keeping our tools clean for the coming season. And so we should.

What is often advised is the use of Linseed Oil to maintain wooden handled tools. Fine, I hear you say but what is not always mentioned are the dangers of spontaneous combustion of the cloths/rags that are used.

I am by no means an expert in these sorts of things but I do take care and dry my cloths/rags out with plenty of air circulation around before tidying up. Just throwing them into a corner all covered in oil or jammed in a pot or whatever can result in a fire quite quickly.

Maybe there are more technically aware folk here who can elaborate further.

• treehugger80treehugger80 Posts: 1,915

the linseed oil oxidises in air, this is an exothermic reaction (it gives out heat) if the cloth is spread out the heat dissipates easily,

however if the cloth is scrunched into a ball, or shoved in a draw the heat builds up until the flashpoint of the oil is reached (something like 80 degrees Celsius.) This causes the oil on the rag to burst into flames, which catches the rag itself on fire and anything flammable in the area (like a wooden bench etc.)

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,635

Absolutely - basic good practice in artists' studios as well of course image

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• TopbirdTopbird Posts: 5,387

Oooh - didn't know that - thanks for the heads up image

Heaven is ... sitting in the garden with a G&T and a cat while watching the sun go down
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,635

Also if you use a linseed-based polish for floors or furniture!

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh