Forum home Plants

David Austin Roses, are they worth it?

• Louise BLouise B Posts: 81

I'm a total novice so my opinion is probably a bit naive but I'm very much on the fence about D A roses.

I bought three different D A roses based upon their fragrance and disease resistance.

They all smell wonderful. Nicest smelling roses I've encountered.

However, they all suffer from one disease or another so I'm constantly cutting bits off. They have been very slow to grow and although they have a lot of flower buds, they open and wilt in a blink. I never get a huge mass of beautiful flowers and intense scent at once that lingers.

Perhaps that is just roses in general though. I did prepare and plant as directed.

Last edited: 26 June 2016 11:05:29

• B3B3 Posts: 20,024

Louise, try Arthur Bell. It comes  as a shrub and a climber. It's yellow, repeat flowering with a good scent and firm flowers that have good resistance to the rain unless the petals are about to drop off anyway. I grow them in containers and in the ground.

They get a bit of black spot now and again, but most roses do.

In London. Keen but lazy.
  • rosemummyrosemummy Posts: 2,010

I just bought Olivia Rose Austin and Geoff Hamilton, both beautiful, wonderful fragrance, planted out last week so hope they do well. On the other hand had Alanm Titchmarsh for 2 years, and although the flowers are lovely and they smell wonderful, the habit is awful, the flowers all flop down with their faces in the soil except one random shoot which when my bach was turned for 5 minutes shot up to almost 5 foot leaving the rest drooping sown sadly, as soon as that shoot flowers I'll chop it and hope it evens/strengthens

• Olivia Rose Austin is definately next on my list when I can find a gap for another rose.