New Allotmemt- help with designing needed

Hi all,

Ive just taken on a 125 sqm plot at an allotment site in Norwich. Its very overgrown with grass, there are tyres, an old broken wheelbarrow and a nice big heap of glass/broken laminate flooring currently shoved on the compost pile. Im a complete newbie, and I've been told the best thing to do first is to cut the grass down and cover half in black membrane whilst I work on digging the rest. 

Ive also inherited two apple trees, the tree at the front (no idea what it is or if it's alive!), a scattering of Autumn raspberry canes and a gooseberry bush. Id like to create 6 or so beds that I can grow veg in such as beetroot, butternut squash and purple sprouting (the list goes on). What is the best way to go about creating my beds and roughly how big should they be based on the 125sq m plot? Any help and advice would be much appreciated! I've attached a picture below of what it's like so far. When I met the allotment coordinator she did ask me if I was going to be having any help....at 5"1 and 50kg I think I've got a lot of hard work to do as I'm on my own with this!

kind regards

charlotte 

• CeresCeres Posts: 1,764