Forum home Plants

Fuschia cuttings

I pinched out some tips from a friend's Fuschias in France last month and planted them in some damp soil in a lidded plastic bakery container to bring home (with small hole cut in top) They seem to be doing ok (they look healthy) and some have white thread like roots forming. However, one or two seem to have roots on their stems where there are leaf junctions. Should I sever these and plant separately - thus making two plants from the original one? Presumably I need to wait until there is a reasonable root growth on the cuttings before planting in individual pots? They are on my kitchen window sill but I do have a brick shed I use for potting so they could go in there once potted up.  Also, should I leave my various containers of mature fuschias out during winter? (South coast)  I have inherited nearly all of them since moving in April. Sorry this question is rather lengthy! 

• BiljeBilje Posts: 695
    I'm not an expert by any means but I'd be wary of moving cuttings at this time of year. Does the box look like a small seed tray and most importantly does it have drainage holes. If the answer is yes I'd leave well alone and keep them somewhere bright but undercover until the spring, I definitely wouldn't try and increase the individual cuttings. If they are just sitting in the box not properly planted and with no drainage I think you'd have to risk potting them into individual small pots.

As for the maturer plants it will depend on whether they are hardy varieties or not...do you know?
  • Thanks for your reply. The box has no drainage holes and was just a temporary measure to transport the cuttings. Is it usual for Fuschias to produce roots on their stems? Presumably this is because the box is quite humid? I would pot them very carefully (the present soil level is very shallow.)