Forum home Fruit & veg

Parsnips in France

This is my first time of growing veg in northern France. I assumed everything would be just a tad earlier than the uk. However, i have read a French lunar planting guide that suggests parsnips should be planted in December. Any thoughts please?

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 18,625

Every French person I ever spoke to about gardening and/or vegetable cookery denied all knowledge of the parsnip. They even denied knowing the French word for parsnip. When I showed one French man a parsnip in the greengrocer's shop he sniffed and said "food for beasts".

I often cooked roast parsnips for my French gusts and they loved them.image

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • EnkayEnkay Posts: 17

Theye are not common Panseyface, that's why I want to grow them. They are in large supermarkets but quite expensive. They are known as Le Panais. But, when to plant them?

I generally work on intuition. Not always reliable, but generally so. I ask myself the question when would these seeds naturally begin to think about germinating? Not many seeds naturally start to sprout in December. If you don't sow seeds in autumn when the seedpods are ripening, the next natural time is in spring.

However, I'm sure that there are parsnip experts out there who will come to your aid soon.image

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 26,210

I can now get decent parsnips here, both normal and organic at decent prices.   The one year I grew them they were immense and woody in the middle before we got anything like cold enough to have the frosts supposedly needed to improve the taste so I haven't bothered since.   I don't know if it was the soil, the climate that year or the wrong kind of parsnip.

Here is what the RHS advises - https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/grow-your-own/vegetables/parsnips 

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw