Clearing overgrown garden

Hello we have just moved house and our garden is a mess. We had everything cut down but what do I do now? I'm totally new to gardening never had a garden before do I use a rake to get rid of all the debris? Thanks

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICTPosts: 12,667

We are almost into winter. I'd save my strength and let the cold weather and wind do the work for you.image

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • I'm so impatient though haha I want to plant winter flowers haha
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICTPosts: 12,667

What sort of winter flowers do you want to plant?

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • WaysideWayside Posts: 644

I'm no expert!  But first check your aspect - watch the sun through the day, to try and get an idea of different areas of the garden.  What is hot and what is not.  What is shaded, sheltered etc. That will determine some of your planting, seating and structure.  Look out your windows in the house where would you want to put your prize specimens?  You might or might not want to shade windows with future growth.

If you do have trees in mind, I'd recommend getting them in early, you normally plant them during the dormant season (I think that's Winter: November to March in the UK.)  You'll then have some structure to plant around.  Having said that you don't want a tree in the wrong place, so don't rush in if you are unsure.  You can always hire an opinion.  Or get someone to plan the garden.

There are many books for inspiration, as well as other gardens.  Our garden looks very different in the Winter to the summer, as the leaves fall, and for me I like some winter interest.  You may want some evergreens for privacy etc.

Soil types, and wetness can also determine planting.  I have a chalk garden so some plants and trees are a no-no.  Glance your local area, chances are that if it works there it will work for you.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 48,986