Forum home Plants

Privet hedge

Hi, I am new to gardening so would very much appreciate your advice. We bought our first house last Nov, at the front there is a well established privet hedge divided with our neighbour. Since we moved in we have not done any maintenance on our side. I assumed this was a once year thing but on looking this up have seen that we really should have trimmed it 2 or 3 times this year already.. Although this would have been difficult as until recently there were several nests in it. I have checked with our neighbour and they are happy for us to sort our side out. As it's been left to its own devices for at least a year it has grown quite far into our garden about 50-75cm beyond where I'd ideally like it. I'd really like to prune it as far back as possible, but I'm not sure how to go about this. Although it looks green and healthy (to me anyway) all the leaves are only on the first few cms. Behind this is simply a mass of branches. i don't know where to start in pruning it back, what should I be taking out and leaving? And if we cut it back to the bare branches, removing the leaves will it recover and grow new leaves or will we be left looking at bare branches forever?

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 23,797

I'd leave it until next Spring.

You can cut it now, but it's unlikely to produce more leaves and you'll be left with a fairly unattractive hedge over the winter.

When you've cut it back, give it a feed to help it get going again.

Devon.
  • Snow MaidenSnow Maiden South Coast UKPosts: 862

We have privit all the way around our property and keep it trimmed twice a year. In the past we have had to take drastic action and trim sections back quite hard  and although it does look a bit awful for a while it always grows back well. We also take cuttings each year......just a few to use to fill in any gaps should the need arise, they are very easy to grow. Our hedge is very healthy looking and grows well without any fussing. LP