Honey fungus

I've posted this under "problem solving" although it's more a discussion about living with a problem and adapting to its conditions. I've lived in the property about 18months and the last two summers I have observed fungus growing nearby an old tree trunk. Evidently the previous owner felled a large tree but did not remove the stump or roots. Looking online I have identified the fungus as honey fungus, it's appearance and habit make it fairly conclusive. I've also observed several of my plants die or fail to thrive, most of them roses and viburnums - both plants are susceptible to honey fungus infection. So I feel the diagnoses is pretty clear. I'm new to gardening but spent a lot of time playing in woodland as a child and I remember seeing honey fungus or Amerilla on fallen trees and old stumps, it had a natural and unthreatening presence, with plenty of thriving shrubs and trees all around. But within the context of a suburban garden I suppose honey fungus is looked upon as a villain? I was dismayed looking online to find that honey fungus is considered "the most deadly fungus in the UK" and is described as a "killer". Considering my own plants appear to have died since coming into contact with honey fungus, must I resign myself and my garden to a grim and dismal future? I'm told no chemical treatments are available and the only way to reduce (not remove) the deadly fungus is to dig out the infected stump, roots and dig out 1m of soil in a 10m radius! That's bigger than my garden allows. I have contacted a tree surgeon about grinding out the stump and so on. But I can't believe that life with honey fungus in the garden needs to be so depressing? Surely if the oldest woodlands and some of the oldest stately gardens have survived cycles of honey fungus over the centuries, then there must be hope for my little plot of land to overcome this issue? I should say that my village is surrounded by woodland and heathland, where I've no doubt various types of h