Forum home Plants

Very unusual plant

PassionatePassionate Posts: 225

Has anyone ever grown an Echium Pininana tree plant, as shown in the picture I have been growing this for five years or more. The first two years it was a mass of leaves about two feet high then following year one mighty stalk about 5feet with lovely pink flowers and the bees love it. Then as it was going over it produced  three stalks from the main stem, now this year the three have grown and flowered beautifully but now going to seed. I'm wondering if i cut it down would it start a new shoot? The seeds take years to grow. Any advice is welcome.

• PassionatePassionate Posts: 225

Hi Verdun, yes that's right they are fantastic talking points in the garden.

I have always kept mine in a large pot so that I can put it in the green house over winter, perhaps this has restricted the growth but it still gets high enough for me.

im just so pleased that I have managed to grow it for five years now, but although I have collected seeds this year I would hate to lose the main plant.

I understand they seed all over the place but I've yet to recognise a seedling, I think I've dug them up by mistake.

i have seeds in pots (a few for luck) and if I'm lucky To grow them I will have to nurture them for a few years before they are as big as this one now.

Gardening is as much a concern as it is exciting.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 25,217

Lyn gave me some of her seed earlier this year and they've germinated well. I have about 20 in the cool tunnel and I'll plat them out next year, AND sow more seed.

Devon.
  • punkdocpunkdoc Sheffield, Derbyshire border.Posts: 8,048

Passionate. I am surprised yours has not died. They are supposed to die after flowering.

Somewhere in my heart
    There is a star that shines for you
    Silver splits the blue
    Love will see it through
  • LynLyn DevonPosts: 15,920

They make stronger plants if left to self seed, I have done both but the self seeders look stronger.