Forum home The potting shed

Newbie alert!

Hi guys.

just wanted to say hi. I've just joined the forum, and have read some interesting threads, so im looking forward to being part of some of them.

a little about me... I studied at Capel Manor in Essex about 20 years ago for the RHS general exam, but work took over and I never finished the course. I think that some of the stuff is still rattling around in my brain somewhere though! We had a very small, triangular garden at the time, which was a challenge. But again, with work it was kept very low maintenance, almost courtyard.

ive recently moved to a new property which has a north facing garden. Work has changed, and my pace of life is much slower, so I can enjoy the garden properly at last. My new wife loves the garden (loves to relax in the garden I mean, she doesn't get too involved) and our daughter graduated university recently so the gardening as it was (pretty much a wasteland) needed a quick makeover.

Theres still lots to do. The 'shed' needs sorting, and the patch on the top right corner will be a small rock and scree garden. The planting will be done properly next season. We just used some plants from our previous garden, plus some oddments from the garden centres hospital rack! (We were on a budget!)

the overgrown patch at the bottom is girl our other daughters fairy wilderness garden, whatever that might be?! Oh and the candles on sticks were only in for the party. They're not a permanent design feature.

on Tuesday I start work at the local nursery and garden centre, and I'm hoping to finally start on a garden design course. I've wanted to do one for years.

anyway, thanks for reading. I hope that my little knowledge might be useful to somebody along the line

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,562

Hi Dave, welome to the forumimage

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 19,181

Hello Dave. That's a huge difference already.image

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • Dave2356Dave2356 Posts: 42

Thanks guys.