A beautiful rose that will not flower

Hello everyone. I am a newbie who grows house plants and have, so far, had great success and passed many cuttings on to friends and family.

Recently, I saw a nice miniature rose in a supermarket and bought it. It is healthy and its daily growth is astounding. It has four large buds that have been there for over a week, with such healthy flowers inside that they are almost bursting! But, they will NOT flower! Grrrr! I am so looking forward to their beauty, but this plant will not flower.

Advice, please. Any and all ideas welcome, though I have read mini roses do not do well indoors. That is a given, but it is doing well, it just will not go the last step and flower!

Thank you so much for reading.

• cairnsiecairnsie Posts: 389

Maybe needs feeding roses are heavy feeders. Saying that rose buds can take a while to devlope too.

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,806

I think it is just a matter of patience-where have you got this plant situated?image

• WoolfoldWoolfold Posts: 7

I have it in a kitchen window which catches the beuatiful sun (today especially) from dawn until 2pm.

What I failed to mention is these are the second round of buds. In a past life, I was a county-champion dahlia grower and show'er and am used to 'bringing on' the best buds. With this in mind, I removed the whole first lot that wouldn't flower, fattened the plant up a little by topping it, and these are the second tranche odf buds, so it is definitelty not a patience issue! It is an 'EEEEEK' issue!

Thanks.

Sorry, I failed to respond to the feeding question. I read that flowering roses need permanently watering, not far short of boggy soil, so I put 6 drops of Baby-Bio to a small watering can and keep it topped-up in the saucer so it can draw the water as it needs it.

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,806