Forum home Garden design

Help - Total Beginner

2»

• Alan4711Alan4711 LincolnshirePosts: 1,577

Hi Tim,Kate and i got our first allotment last year,it was 2 feet high in grass and weeds and we knew nothing about gardening or allotmenteering but Rainwater Fanatic is dead right because we got so much help and advise from the other allotment holders it helped stop us making many mistakes ,allotmenteering is as we found a sort of cluby type of thing help just seems to come from everywhere, if we were to start afresh we would still deturf the weeds and grass and stack it grass to grass in a corner and cover for 6/8 monthes it makes great loamy soil, iv just put ours back into the beds ready for this years planting, i see youv already got yours ready,then we would still do raised beds as once you have done them all the hard graft is done our beds are now just so easy to keep weed free and easy to plant into. Into  the beds again good manure, and try to have a spare pile of manure for the coming years as it rots down beautifully if covered up and left in a corner your not useing, we had to have11 ton of top soil but you might not need it as our allotment was a year before just a field hence the raised beds to protect from weeds and it does work, The sheds a godsend, waterbuts \(dairy farmers will give you ex disinfectant 40 gallon big tubs they use) just connect them up  and a hose and there you go all the rest just ask on here its great and free id better stop ther 

good luck Alan4711image

sorry for the double something called outlook just took over my pc thing it seems to be ok now all the email looks different but i,ll struggle onward and all that cheers all

Alan

• Hi Tim!

Firstly, Welcome to the wonderful, but very addictive "World of Gardening" image