Forum home Tools and techniques
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

is it worth buying a greenhouse? Which one?

Hi everyone! I'm a total gardening novice, this is my first year of gardening and so far I love it. Most of the things I grow are in pots and containers including some tomatoes, courgettes and peppers. But my aunt made me a raised bed while I was in hospital with my son. Sadly most of the plants on it were eaten by slugs, so it seems quite useless. And now my husband offered me to put a greenhouse there instead of that raised bed. The space has sun from morning till about 2pm and the bed is currently about 2x1 m. Is it worth investing in a greenhouse at all? Which one would be better if we don't have a lot of money?

• Hi

If you are just starting out you can buy portable greenhouses for about £20 from garden centres that will fill your 2 x 1m space. More permanent greenhouses for a size 4 foot x 6 foot  can start from £500, in these you can have a portable heater. Not advised in the £20 ones though.

To help with snails, try putting crushed egg shells around your plants. Slug and snails don't like going over them. Hope this helpsimage

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 34,888

Darya, my advice would be to get the biggest and best quality space and budget allow. 

As Alan Titchmarsh once said " 2 things in the garden which can never be too big: your greenhouse and your compost bins"

Devon.
  • HippophaeHippophae Posts: 154

Yes a greenhouse is a must and always a worthwhile investment if used! It will expand what you are able to do and grow in your garden tenfold! I agree with Hostafan1, go large!

• cathy43cathy43 Posts: 373

I got my first proper greenhouse last year, on advice got it twice the size I thought I needed but a size that filled the space I had 6'x8', oddly this year it doesn't seem quite big enough?image