Forum home Problem solving

How to set up a soaker hose system ?

I wonder if anyone can advise of every item I will need to water a row of recently planted plants via a soaker hose ? As you would have seen from a post made a month ago, I am not an expert on this or flowers or gardening in general. 

Okay, so at the moment we have 2 hoses, one goes to the front garden and one to the back to fill the pond. I want to add a third to run to a soaker that can keep watering the planets when needed. The plants are planted within a 3 metre rectangle hedgerow. Soil is made up of bark.

Here is what I have in my virtual basket...........

1. Darlac Plastic 4 Way Tap Manifold
2. 40m Hose
3. Hozelock 6760 1/2-inch 7.5m Porous Soaker Hose
4. Some kind of timer
5. Metal Portable Hose Pipe Holder Hanger Expandable 
6. Some kind of hooks to keep hose in ground

Does this sound like all that is needed ? Also does anyone here already use a soaker hose and can give me any advice ?

Thanks all !!

• Nanny BeachNanny Beach Posts: 4,002

Gosh, you get up almost as early as me! I was up at 2a.m. needing a drink couldnt get back to sleep.  It seems a lot of expense to go to, I have a big plot, but just water new stuff either with a normal hose in the evening, or water from (5) butts)  I bought an irrigation kit for one of my greenhouses, with the peppers and cucumbers in, because of working shifts. says easy to install, no tools required, but I havent a clue!  There are no instructions in the box.  HELP

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 15,276

I've used a soaker hose, but it's not on a timer. I just attach the hose from the tap to it. It worked very well at first in a long narrow bed but as plants grew up and weeds started it became harder to see when weeding and planting and I put my fork through it several times so it's now fairly useless!