is it ok to feed birds ordinary suet rather the prepared bird suet you can buy

I have noticed that it is much cheaper to buy the tesco branded suet rather than buy the prepared suet in the pet shops.  Is this ok to give the birds ?  I feed them dried fruit, oats but always buy the prepared suet.  I seem to be getting through so much of the stuff it is costing me a fortune.

• nutcutletnutcutlet PeterboroughPosts: 26,088

Probably better. The prepared stuff will be a way of charging you more

• Caz WCaz W Posts: 1,353

Lavender Lady - I've been feeding mine on suet and lard for many years and they seem to love it.  I melt it and mix it with oats, seeds, dried fruit, etc. and make my own fat balls either to put in the feeder or hang up somewhere.  I have even just put it out as it is and it all gets eaten very quickly.   Much cheaper!

• Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 3,155

My suet or lard is just bought from the supermarket, birds seem to prefer home made fat balls to the bought ready made one's, which I find, are only half eaten, then disintegrate and scatter on the ground.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,606

If you've got a friendly butcher why not ask for a lump of fresh suet?  It's what we always used to buy 'back in the old days' and I presume cattle still come equipped with it?  It used to be my job to grate it on a cheese grater for Ma to make suet dumplings with.  I'm sure it'll be even more economical.  

You could just tie some string around t and hang it from a branch somewhere - that's what Ma did when we'd grated as much as possible off the membrane - she'd tie it to a branch of the buddliea outside her kitchen window so she could watch the birds while washing up. image

Or of course you can melt it down in a pan and make fat balls.

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh