Forum home Fruit & veg

Dwarf Apple Trees

I planted two dwarf apple trees in containers earlier this year, both are growing well, in fact one has blossomed already. As a complete novice, do I allow these trees to fruit in the first year or not? And is there any advice as to anything else I should do with them this year?

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,066

Don't let them fruit in the first year Paul.  They need to develop a good root system before you let them produce apples.  All you need to do for now is keep them watered and occasionally feed them.  In the winter you will need to prune them to make sure that they develop a good shape - see the RHS advice here:

https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=164

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • DorcasDorcas Posts: 159

Paul - I'd leave the fruits alone to see what happens after 'June drop'.  This is when the immature apples fall off naturally.  Usually you'll be left with one or two per cluster of stronger apples.  Overall, you are aiming for this number otherwise as they grow, there will be too much weight and they'll all fall off.  You may have to rub out some of the small apples yourself to achieve this balance.  The main job to do this year is keep the pots well watered as irregular watering will cause stress to the tree which will affect the fruit as well.  Also cover the roots with a layer of mulch to conserve the water.  As for feeding, each year I give mine a handful or two of pelleted chicken manure (6X is really good) before I mulch.  Other than that, sit back and wait to pick your 1st apple!

• Paul AntonyPaul Antony Posts: 37