Forum home Problem solving

Replacing membrane on established gravel garden

Hi all, new to this forum but hopefully somebody can help.

We have quite a large gravel 'dried riverbed' style front garden complete with smallish mixed gravel it is very established with some beautiful plants. Back in the day I'm sure it looked amazing but we've only recently moved into the house and it now needs some attention after being neglected for well over a year.

The problem we have is with a horsetail type weed that seems to invested the whole area.

On closer inspection, it appears it as attached itself to the (old/damaged) membrane, the root network is vast underneath the gravel stuck tightly to the membrane, and as expected it readily gives up it's stalks with a light tug. Obviously solves the problem for a few days but then it returns with a vengence!

My plan is to replace the entire membrane/gravel and leave all the plants where they are but I am completely new to gardening so wanted to know:

a) is this even possible without damaging the plants?

b)is it something a novice could tackle or would it be described as a 'advanced' task?

Could anyone give me any advice on things to remember. I have heard that it is possible to wash the gravel but the horsetail is so developed I'm very reluctant to put anything back once the new membrane is now for fear of it returning.

Many thanks in advance

• As jobs go, that is big,

I've never encountered i but from what I've heard from others you'll need to dig out the root networks.

• Blue OnionBlue Onion Posts: 2,904

I'd be tempted to spray glyphosate on all the horsetail as it appears through the stone.  It takes a number of applications.. the more plant showing the better.