How much stone to remove.

I am in the process of digging out and adding compost to the soil in a border.  My mum ( a very keen gardener) has told me to remove stones from the soil.  Is there a reasonable amount to leave in?  It's a big border.

• Unless you have a particularly stony garden I wouldn't remove any. Adding compost will have the effect of reducing the proportion of stone. Stone aids drainage.

What is your stone problem?

• AubreiiAubreii Posts: 16

I'm not sure its a problem.  There is some stone, I was going to remove a few big chunks.  It is a very big border, about 14 metres.  I don't want to be sifting soil to remove stone if I don't need to.

• OK to remove some big chunks, but sifting not necessary. Focus on improving the soil with your compost. No need to hump stone unnecessarily. 

Thank you very much. I'm a novice, this has saved me work.

#grateful
  • granmagranma Posts: 1,799

A friend used to spend hours picking up stones from the border.she thought she had done so well ,used to show off her border'showing me a clump of flowers a couple of foot along the border another clump of plants  . But in between just  a spread  of stoneless soil.   I looked at the plants , she pointed out the flat stretch of soil without stone

Last year she started to buy top soil by the cartload , her borders were dropping below the height of the lawn . So again picking off the stones  And now wondering what the hell to do with this cartload of stones she has accumulated.!image

• LynLyn DevonPosts: 13,229

When I dug my borders we had enough rocks to built a little dry stone wall along the front of the property. They couldnt have been left but I do leave any that are up to  1·5 inches accross, anything else gets dumped.

Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

I'll take out any bigger than a few inches and just work the rest in nicely.

Thanks for the help!

• PalustrisPalustris Posts: 3,101