Forum home Fruit & veg

growing berries in a raised bed

I’am total novice to gardening but wanted to start growing berries. I have created a raised bed of 5.4 meters length and 1 meter width and was planning to plant there 1 bush of blackberries, 1 bush of gooseberry and the rest with raspberry together with wild strawberries in that order. I know that now is not a good time to plant blackberry or raspberry so decided to just leave the space for now and plant only the gooseberry and wild strawberries. How much space do I need to give to each and can I plant wild strawberries together with raspberries? I have read somewhere that blackberry doesn't like to grow next to strawberries, is a gooseberry between will solve that problem? Also - Its probably to late to think about it once my bed is created but is 1 meter width enough for them?

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,067

The main issue with raspberries is that they send runners in random directions so can pop-up anywhere within the bed.  However, you can just pull them up if they appear in (say) the middle of your gooseberry bush.  If you could put some kind of vertical barrier (eg weed control membrane) within the soil of the raised bed, you could perhaps section-off some of the bed and restrict the raspberries to that area.  A gooseberry bush will grow to about 1m x 1m and strawberries need about 30cm x 30cm each but you can often get away with a bit less in a raised bed.  Blackberries mainly need vertical growing space and most varieties need some support such as trellis to tie them in to.

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • LoganLogan Posts: 2,532
    I agree but I do grow mine close together they grow and fruit OK,for the gooseberries and if your growing redcurrants, whitecurrants and you can buy pink currants watch out for gooseberry & currant saw fly catapillas.
  • LoganLogan Posts: 2,532
    They don't seem to go for blackcurrants.