North-facingborder

I have just established a narrow, raised north-facing border against a wall. It gets the sun in the morning and evening at this time of year. Good topsoil and , I hope godraining age. Any suggestions for climbing or perennial plants, please?

• Jude14Jude14 Posts: 8

...sorry , that should have said 'good drainage'!

• WintersongWintersong Posts: 2,436

Some Clematis and climbing roses will tolerate a north wall although the latter still require some sun, perhaps not the hottest part of the day but it does depend on type of shade

climbing hydrangea is great in dense shade but it's beefy when it settles in

Can't go wrong with ferns for most soils, hostas,  especially blue ones but they are hungry fellas , euphorbia for all heights and sizes and also hercheras give amazing colour 

Many woodland plants and bulbs if the seasonal changes are what blocks light 

I'm no expert but the above has worked for me 

Thank you for your suggestions, which are different to those I thought of.

it was good to think of seasonal variation as well....

• YviestevieYviestevie Kingswinford, West MidlandsPosts: 4,637

I have winter honeysuckle, and Chocolate Vine on my north facing wall,  Foxgloves although not climbers can also give height.

Hi from Kingswinford in the West Midlands
  • Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 13,465

I have 2 clematis on a north wall, Jean Paul II, which was amazing last year and Perle d'Azur which grows on a north wall in Sissinghurst garden.

As for perennials, Wintersong has given a good selection, I would add Brunnera Jack Frost and Pulmonarias.

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 16,254

Primulas too and hakonechloa grass.  I have hellebores in a north facing bed that gets some sun form April to September but none at all from October to March.