Forum home Talkback

Worried!

Hi all

I might be worrying unnecessarily - so hoping you can put my mind at rest!

As some of you may remember I am a complete novice and agreed to grow some flowers for my friend to use on her tables at her wedding reception on June 20th this year.

I've planted some sweetpeas - started off indoors on my windowsill propagator. I planted them outside in tubs with canes and pea nets a few weeks ago BUT they don't seem to have grown an awful lot since being outside......I'm worried that i won't have flowers for her!!!!!image 

• PerkiPerki Rossendale - LancashirePosts: 1,662

I wouldn't worry to much, they will need a bit of time to establish themselves,  apparently don't like root disturbs as well.  I be surprised if you dont have any flowers by 20th June. 

It is cold a night where I live -3 C last inside the greenhouse image so you will have to be carefully of hard frost even though sweet peas are quite hardy. 

• Hi all

Thanks - I live waaaaay down south image Bournemouth.

What else should I be planting for a 'back up'? She wants only pale colours and whites for her tables - any help GRATEFULLY received!!!

Don't have photos at the mo as just about to pop out but might be able to get some later this week.

• Fishy65Fishy65 Posts: 2,233

Congratulations for your footy team Amy, if you follow it image

• Yes - that's what I thought Verdun - perhaps I did disturb their roots too much when I planted them out - even though I used peat pots.

I have cosmos seeds - should I abandon that idea and buy some plants instead do you think?

Thanks Fishy65 - I don't follow the footy myself but my husband is the head groundsman at AFC Bournemouth and i svery proud of his pitch and his team image

• WateryWatery Posts: 388