Making something new/better

Hi all, I'm a new engineer at a garden product manufacturing plant. I am looking for new ideas. I have made many gardening products from my gardening experience. I am not looking for some elses new great idea. Just things that you may or may not like about the things that are out there. It seams like lately I'm spending more time getting cost out of things rather than making things gardeners want. I guess in a nutshell I'm asking if there is anything my industry could be doing better to serve the gardening community. 

• GillianBCGillianBC Posts: 121

1.  Make some terracotta pots that look like the old Victorian pots - the old ones sell for a packet on Ebay, but no-one seems to make the traditional looking ones anymore

2.  Make a mini, hand version of The Garden Claw - there are many imitations out there, but they don't have angled tines and it's the angles that make the difference

3. A razor sharp hand weeding tool to hoe between plants - I've tried using a 1" paint scraper, but they're just not sharp enough

• Gillian, try the Wolf dutch hoe attachment it's really sharp and great for weeding.

• cloud8cloud8 Posts: 101

I'm with gillian on the terracotta pot thing.

4. a better version of hand bulb planters.  The sprung jaws tend to break after a while.  Also be good to have a bulb planter that converted from the long-handled sort that you can use your foot on to the hand one

5. easy, cheap clip-together raised bed corners.  There are already raised bed kits out there with various corner braces, but they come as a complete kit, I just want the ironmongery that will clip 1" thick planks together.  Rather like a double-angle iron with holes at the end to insert screw (a 90 degree angle with another 90 angle welded inside it 1" apart).  If there's some way of making firm corners without any drilling required, that would be a plus.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 18,440