Fruit trees - plum and apple

Hi all image

2 questions if I may.....

Plum tree - it has blossom on it for the second year in a row image Is there anything I can do to encourage it to fruit?

Apple tree - for the last two years it has been plagued by aphids. Is there anything I can do to prevent them from arriving this year?

Many thanks image

• Zoomer44Zoomer44 Posts: 2,953

I'm no expert but had a plum tree on my last allotment, I'm given to understand two things need to happen for it to fruit. It needs to blossom but a late frost can kill the blossom in which case there will be no fruit. Secondly the blossom needs to be polinated and so bee's need to be encouraged to come. 

Are the branches conjested and crossing over? My tree was in need of a sever prune and so in the autumn it was cut back a third, all the crossed branches taken out and branches I couldn't reach to pick fruit.It was a very sever pruning but produced a pumper crop.

Does your apple tree have ants on or around the stem, these can farm aphids. ,    

• 4thPanda4thPanda Posts: 4,145

Thanks Zoomer image

I did have some crossing branches on the plum but removed them image Am wondering if I should assist the pollinators with my paintbrush image I don't do anything to encourage or discourage the bees from my garden - neither of my neighbours have plants in their gardens so they should find loads to enjoy in mine image

Re the apple, it has been plagued by ants for the last couple of years image Any tips on stopping them? 

• bekkie hughesbekkie hughes Posts: 5,294
    Panda, i was told to hang bird feeders in an affected tree to attract birds which will eat the aphids, dunno about ants tho, have you got a pond? Maybe something else would control the ants? image

I would say the same as zoomer about the plum, if the frost has already got at the blossom, you might just have to wait til next year and cover it in fleece when you see the blossom, you will have to hand pollinate to then image