Forum home Plants

Help needed please with laurel hedge issues...

• Hi all, I thought I would post a quick update on my laurels. I posted on here in February 2021 for a bit of advice, you can see the original images below:

I cut them down a bit (almost in half) and they have started to thicken out. Most of the growth has appeared in the last three weeks so it's starting to look promising.  

I hope to get some more images through the summer, as the garden isn't very accessible at the minute. 

Can any one offer any advice on thickening out the bottom? Some of the trees (you can see on the far right) were planted at larger intervals so I am considering planting some smaller laurels (5 litre pots 60cm tall) just to fill in the gaps, but I'm worried digging new holes will disturb the already established root network of the others?

Thoughts welcome. 
  • DitsyDitsy LondonPosts: 167
    I am no expert but I think they will soon fill the gaps. Maybe cut some of the lower branches so that they grow back with lots more shoots.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 71,750
    Trim the hedge to a blunt ‘A’ shape (what is called ‘trimming to a batter’). That way the top won’t shade the bottom and the sunlight will stimulate growth at the bottom. 

See the section on formal hedges here https://www.rhs.org.uk/Advice/profile?PID=353

😊 

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

For example: Lawson cypressLeyland cypressyewbaycherry laurelcotoneaster and pyracantha

Formative pruning

• On planting, leave the leading shoot unpruned, lightly cutting back any straggly side shoots
    • In summer, trim sideshoots and tie in the leader to a supporting cane as it grows
    • Use secateurs for broad-leaved evergreens (e.g. laurel and bay)
    I have just read this in the link. I have already cut the leaders off my laurels at only 2' high. is this wrong?
    edited 25 June