Fertilizing... Please help as it's driving me mad!

Hi there, I am new to forum so hello everyone I am very new to gardening but I have recently planted lots of plants in my garden and it's all looking lovely. However I have been reading that I should use fertilisers and the best is usually a well balanced slow release. However I have been reading that for example the miracle gro slow release fertiliser is not actually well balanced even tho it says it is. So I would really like to know which fertilizer would be best for the majority of my garden plants and something I can buy in the UK. Also how often should I fertilize? One more thing... If I used well rotted horse manure as a top dressing to be soil.. Would I still need to use other fertilisers? Thanks and sorry if I haven't made any sense. Craigh

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 21,302

Welcome Craigh, by the way , is it pronounced the same as Craig? sorry if not. never come across it before.

Fertiliser frequency is different from garden to garden. eg sandy soils need more than clay soils. Use something like Fish , blood and bone as a nice balanced slow release. Well rotted manure is a great top dressing, if it's a bit fresh , don't let it touch foliage / stems. The worms will bring it down into the ground.

Devon.
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 14,864

Hello Craigh, here is something I found. It is a short summary of what the major ingredients in fertiliser do for plants.