Hello from a newbie

Hi!

i have been lurking and reading back through the threads for some time but feel it's time to be brave and introduce myself!  I have been very lucky as following a lot of work my raised beds are finally ready and waiting for planting.  I am a newbie to raised beds and have limited experience of vegetable growing but I am keen to learn and I understand there will be a mixture of successes and failures over the coming years to learn from. I'm sure I'll have lots of questions to ask image.

I have a 4 year old (hence some of the garden decorations in the photos!) and I have such fond memories of gardening with my grandparents when I was young and hope to encourage my little one to take an active part and appreciate how our food is grown and how it gets to our plates.

I have hopefully attached a couple of photos to give you a rough idea where I'm starting from.  I have already started sowing seeds in the greenhouse and I'm thrilled that I already have signs of life image

• star gaze lilystar gaze lily Posts: 12,849

Hi Jennie7, pleased to meet you image

Love the raised beds.

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 8,281

Hi Jennie and welcome.  As SGL said, those raised beds look fab! image

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,606

Hi Jennie and welcome image  What a lovely garden you have - and great raised beds image

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• WelshonionWelshonion Posts: 3,114
    Welcome! How exciting!
  • KelsbelsKelsbels Posts: 54

Hi Jennie, they look wonderful! I too am starting with raised beds for the first time yesterday, looking forward to sharing success stories!image

• PalaisglidePalaisglide Posts: 3,414

Hello Jennie and welcome, always ask the question you will get an answer from the good people on this board.