Forum home Talkback

Tools

CLERCLER Posts: 56

Well It is almost time to start getting all my lovely garden tools out of hibernation ...can't wait.  It got me thinking....what would be the tool you would not be without for your gardening, have you ever made something that you find useful? Have you a handed down tool you would hate to lose or break ?

love to read your replies

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 19,155

I bought a hoe head like this and put a short handle on it. I like to weed kneeling on a mat and I've found it very useful, cutting through the surface of the soil it loosens the soil and digs up weed seedlings. I'm not very good at using a hoe standing up as it gives me back ache and I tend to hoe up the plants as well as the weeds!

Dordogne and Norfolk
  • CeresCeres Posts: 2,126
    I bought an azada to use on my allotment and it is brilliant. No need for a spade or a hoe and it can cut through the stems of big weeds and long grass without any problems.
  • GillianBCGillianBC Posts: 121

The one I have used over and over for 20 or so years is the original and best Garden Claw.  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ultimate-Garden-Claw-Cultivator-Brand/dp/B0012ZGGOG.   The key thing is the angled tines and the angled handles. You'll see lots of similar ones that are straight and not nearly as good. If you want to dig over a bed prior to planting, loosen up a weedy patch to clean it all up, avoid digging and the bad back that goes with it, dig a 6" round hole to pop in that plant you couldn't resist at the garden centre even though you don't really have space, then this is your man. It won't disturb neighbouring plants and gets through my compacted clay with a simple twist.  I am a bit of a garden claw evangelist, but it really is the one tool that I use every week.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 32,331

I was given a potato fork in 1987 by a 70 year old gardener who was retiring. He said he'd had it over 50 years and I'd be devastated if I lost it.

Devon.