Forum home Plants

Identify tree and pruning advice

Hi, newbie here ...

We recently moved into our new house which has a lovely garden image .  Our plan is to just 'keep on top of it' this year until we work out what is planted where ...

I do have one slight concern and it's this tree, I think it may be a Larch which if it is will grow very tall from what I've read elsewhere.  It's around 15-20 feet tall now and is approximately 15 feet away from the house so I don't really want it getting much bigger.

Am I right to say it's a Larch and whatever it is, how and when do I go about pruning it?

Hopefully those pictures work!  Thanks for reading.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,800

Hi Woodworm image

I don't think it's a larch as they lose their leaves in the winter.  I'm not good on varieties of evergreens etc, but someone on here will recognise it I'm sure.

I wouldn't prune it - pruning trees tends to encourage growth - there's an old gardening saying "Growth follows the knife".    Also at the moment it's an elegant shape which any  pruning would destroy, and it provides a lovely focal point in your garden, accentuating the sweep of the driveway.  One day it will no longer be there and you'll really miss its input to the structure of the garden.

At the moment I'd keep a watching brief, checking how much it grows over the next few years - then you can work out and plan when it will be time to fell it - in the meantime you can plan the evolution of the garden and how you will replace such a significant contribution to the garden.

I'm very envious of that lovely wall by the way image

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh