Forum home Talkback

COMPLETE BEGINNER

Hi,

I've recently moved into a new home with a relatively large garden. I am primarily interested in growing vegetables, however I'd love to grow a few flowers too (lilies, roses, sweet peas etc.). However, I am a complete beginner to gardening, being 17 and never having had a garden in which I could practice with my parent.

My garden is well equipped:

There are four raised beds. However, they become overgrown with weeds during summer, and I would love to get rid of these ASAP, and prepare them for the year ahead. I was hoping to dedicate 2-3 to edible plants, and the other 1-2 to flowers.

I have a greenhouse (with one pane missing). The greenhouse was previously used to house chickens, so the soil in here is well fertilised. The greenhouse is completely empty aside from a shelf. Is there anything I need/should buy to go in here?

I also have room for potted plants (possibly flowers or strawberries?) at the top of the garden which I'd love to utilise also. I'm interested in growing lilies, which I understand are grown in pots...

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and I would be immensely grateful for any advice you can offer.

• PerkiPerki Rossendale - LancashirePosts: 2,217

Hi, plan on what veg you like and want to grow. Weed your raised beds and give them a good mulch. 

It might be an idea to test your soil PH before planting anything, Roses for example prefer acidic soil ( ericaceous soil ) which you can buy from garden centres etc.

I sow sweet peas in pots first week in March , but some people to sow them earlier.

Lily dont have to be grown in pots, but it is easier. They require lots of drainage cause the bulbs tend to rot but never let them dry out.