Forum home Talkback

Newbie with a large garden

Hi all 

I'm new hear and have just found you on google.

im a novice when it comes to gardening and have always owned houses with small back gardens. I have just bought a house with a massive garden, the full plot is 3/4 of an acre! I'm looking for some advice on tree felling and mainly on wood chippers.

Basically the gardens perimeter is surround by many trees which the majority of them are under preservation orders, however there are some really large conifers which are quite close to the house. I would like to have these removed. 1 to allow the light in a bit more and 2 it will allow the trees around them a bit more space to breath. 

I would love to hear your opinions on how I can get rid of the waste such as using a wood chipper etc. I will try and upload some photos so you can see what I mean. 

Please go easy on me as I am a true beginner and I'm already nervous about looking after such a large area!!

• chickychicky SurreyPosts: 10,208

Hi Paul - great garden - you're going to have lots of funimage

We have had to have some conifers taken down in the past.  The guy who came and did the work had his own chipper, but was happy to leave the chippings with us. We have then used them to line a few paths, make a greenhouse floor covering, and as a weed suppressant/mulch on areas where shrubs are growing (not flower beds).

The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page  - St Augustine
  • GardenmaidenGardenmaiden Posts: 1,125

I think you need to get rid of the ones you don't want and then get someone qualified in who knows what they are doing to maybe lift the crowns to let in more light, thin out overlong limbs before they do damage, and tidy up the preservation order ones too.

If you're not in a hurry to drastically change your garden, you could see what will come up during the year, bulbs, etc.