Forum home Problem solving

How to stop Ash!

Ok so I am completely new to gardening! I have NO IDEA! I have a large garden which is running a mock with weeds…… although some of the weeds look like flowers which is rather annoying! I go for the "if in doubt rip it out" rule! I have found that i cannot rip ash weeds out, even the skinny ones are stuck solid. Do I use weed killer? or can i cut them ou?t Some have stuck themselves to the cracks in walls or next to the house so difficult to dig out! 

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 21,248

Ash seedlings are incredibly tenacious little things. We have the same problem. If you can hoe the ground, they will die. If you loosen the earth with a fork, they are easier to pull up. If they are in a crack, you can cut them off at ground level with secateurs or a sharp knife and they won't regrow.

But if you can keep a few alive in a quiet corner it may be a good idea. Ash dieback is marching across the country and scientists are hoping that some tres will appear that have some resistance to it. You may be lucky to have one of those in your forst of unwanted offspring.

Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • I would resort to the chemical route for this particular problem i.e. apply Glyphosate with a paint brush to the leaves of each individual sapling.

Having said that, this will have to wait until spring, as it will be ineffective until the sap begins to rise. 

• GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 2,286

The most effective way I've found is to cut the stem to about an inch long, split it, then paint on Roundup Tree Stump and Root Killer. Single application works every time. I too would wait until spring when the ash isn't dormant. It is about the only time I resort to chemicals but used it effectively to totally remove an old hedge full of brambles, privet and greengage suckers.

• DorsetUKDorsetUK Posts: 441