Forum home Tools and techniques

What are good quality tools for beginners

Hi there,

I'm not actually the gardner in my house, my wife is. In fact I'm not allowed to make decisions about the garden at all image

She's recently started a horticulture course at college and is in need of good quality tools for the future. Being an engineer I believe in the old adage buy cheap buy twice when it comes to tools. With Christmas coming up I thought I'd help her start her collection of decent equipment. She already has decent set of secataurs but that's about it.

Would someone please help a floundering husband at Christmas with where to look what brand to buy and what to avoid?

• SalinoSalino Posts: 1,609

...shame you can't do any gardening... meanwhile...

I always prefer Wilkinson Sword, and I would be delighted if someone bought me any from this selection...  see what you think...

http://www.wilkinsonsword-tools.co.uk/stainless-steel-garden-tools/hand-tools

• GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 1,310

When buying new I like Joseph Bentley stuff, it has a good feel to it and not all that pricey and they last me OK.

Can't really beat the local scrappy though. I'm always down there looking to see what he has. Last thing I brought back was a Victorian cast iron counterbalance roller (£35), needs some restoration work but I love it. The garden center can keep their water filled flimsy ones for £90. image

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 58,847

Another vote here for Joseph Bentley - good mid-range quality, well-proportioned and the solid ash handles feel good in your hands - and they look good image

“I am not lost, for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” Winnie the Pooh

• chickychicky SurreyPosts: 8,744

I swear by Sneerboer - v expensive, but family have bought them one by one for Christmas and birthdays.  I remember when and where every one came from - some are now very specialimageimage